Skip to main menu

Skip to content

CLB Library / About the Library / The Wentz Award

The Wentz Award

The Wentz Award, established by the Corriher-Linn-Black Library of Catawba College, in honor of Frances Decker Wentz is presented annually to a Junior or Senior student, having served at least two years as a student assistant in the Library, who has demonstrated, through distinguished performance of duties, a real concern and aptitude for the theory and practice of library science and service.

The Wentz Award is given at the Annual Awards Assembly. An individual plaque is presented to the student winner. In addition, the name of the winner and the year of the presentation are engraved on a permanent plaque displayed in the Corriher-Linn-Black Library.

Recipients of the Wentz Award
Year Recipient(s)
 Updated 6/2013
2012/13Katherine Carpenter and Maggie Keeble
2011/12Mackenzie Westbrook and Whitney Mullis
2010/11Kaitlyn Benjes
2009/10Neil Gonzalves
2008/09Sarah Dalida Blackmore
2007/08Lauren Alston Smith
2006/07Angela Fontaine Jacobs
2005/06Lindsay Mellon
2004/05Darrell Smith
2003/04Daniel Safrait
2002/03Virginia Summey
2001/02Matthew Millspaugh
2000/01Heather Morgan
1999/00Nicole Michele Lochead
1998/99Kerry Nelison
1997/98Margaret Elizabeth Nachtigall
1996/97Gerry Frances Ingle
1995/96Charlena Alise Harvell/Karen Elizabeth Witkop
1994/95Jennifer Gelien
1993/94Elaine Elizabeth Doll/John Matthew McGrath
1992/93Dianne Y. Hill
1991/92Sonya Hopkins
1990/91Christine Frizche
1989/90Scarlet Paige Stone
1988/89Dewey Yeatts
1987/88Rhonda Grant
1986/87Robert Conway Bates
1985/86Margaret Grant/Sally Wright
1984/85No Recipient
1983/84Jervetta Renee Campbell
1982/83Sheila Denise Black
1981/82Susan Sidden
1980/81Philip Harvey Myers
1979/80Yolanda Ellerbe
1978/79Rebecca Sue Williams
1977/78Lea Ann Moreton
1976/77Deborah Denise Ward
1975/76Dana Leigh Stafford
1974/75Richard D. Bliss
1973/74Jane Moody